Skip to content

They called me the “moon man”

April 24, 2010
tags:

c. last.fm

“In Chicago, I played with different musicians. I was playing different. They knew I was playing different. They didn’t understand what I was doing, but they were fascinated by it. So I never had to worry about working. I was talking about space and everything– shocking musicians. I told them things that were going to happen. I predicted synthesizers. I told them they would have electric instruments that you could blow; and they told me your saliva gets down in there, you’ll be electrocuted– you couldn’t do that. But they do have them now. Then I was talking about sending men to the moon. They called me “the moon man” then….

Then these space mens contacted me. They wanted me to go to outer space with them. They were looking for somebody who had that type of mind. They said it was quite dangerous because you had to have perfect discipline. When I went up, I’d have to go up like this [elbows pointing in, fingers touching shoulders] because [they said] don’t let no parts of my body touch outside of the ship. Because if I did, going through different time zones, I wouldn’t be able to come back. So that’s what I did.

It looked like a giant spotlight [was] shining down on me. I call it transmolecularization: My whole body was changed into something I could see for myself. And I went up. Then I landed on a planet that I identified as Saturn. First thing I saw was something like the monorail of a railroad track comin’ down out of the sky. Now when this picture came out, Space Odyssey or something like that– they had it right.”

-Sun Ra, in an interview with Francis Davis, “Taken: The True Story of an Alien Abduction”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lowen Howard permalink
    April 25, 2010 11:05 pm

    There’s one problem with this story: you can’t “land” on Saturn. It’s all gas.

    Otherwise, a very credible account.

Leave a Reply

